Re-launching my unused blog

I originally set up this blog just for the sake of being an administrator to First World Hell, which my buddy Steve set up some time ago. Both my blog, and Hell, have sort of languished, untouched for quite some time. I already have a Live Journal, which I have neglected for quite some time now, courtesy of the many social media distractions at my disposal, so the thought of having a medium like this to whither away in the desolate nether regions of the internet wasn’t all that appealing to me.

The Live Journal, in it’s heyday, was mostly day to day stuff. Whatever I was doing, that’s what I wrote about, which included work, school, or even the occasional trip. It was, for all intents and purposes, a tad aimless, though that was not a bad thing. It lived up to it’s billing as a “journal”.

Lately I’ve tried to travel as much as time and money would allow. Over the last few years I’ve been fortunate to see some places that I’ve wanted to visit, and in the process have added more to the list. That’s just how it works. Now in comparison to your standard “wanderlusty-Instagram” accounts, I haven’t been to many places, but I’d like to think I’ve compiled a decent list.

So that all brings me to this blog.

A friend or two have mentioned starting a blog of my travels, and being content with Facebook photo albums of my trips I wasn’t terribly interested in the idea. Not to mention, I already had the neglected LJ account that I was not updating, even when I traveled. And since I tended to take a TON of pictures when I go places, the photo album just seemed like a good fit. But after recently stumbling onto a blogger and her journey along the Pacific Crest Trail last year, reading her daily entries one after another like a Netflix-binge of words, I realized that describing the situation can be a lot of fun. Though my Live Journal wasn’t exactly Hemingway, I remember writing on it fondly, and the occasional caption on a FB photo didn’t quite scratch that itch.

And thus, here I am. Starting my travel blog. One of a million on the internet. All I can offer differently is my own perspective. Other than that, I have no angle. I’m not a thrill-seeker. I’m not impaired. I’m not a connoisseur of anything. I’m not anything that differentiates me from the rest. I’m just a guy that likes to get out whether it’s a nice road trip, or taking the train across the country. Occasionally I’ll find myself out of the bounds of the US, but for budgetary reasons I mostly find myself in the friendly confines of domestic travel.

I tend to travel alone a lot. Maybe that’s my angle? So much so that traveling with others is almost awkward at times. Bad, I know, but that’s just what I’ve become over the last several years. And since I live in the ‘burbs of Los Angeles, my travels, especially of the road variety, tend to be focused on California and the Southwest, for obvious reasons.

So that’s me. I tend to be a little wordy, in case you couldn’t tell. And at the moment I don’t really have any major trips cooking, so I’m thinking my first few posts will be about trips I’ve taken. As trips come up, I’ll try to update as I go along.

Leave a Reply

